

## Farm Service Agency U.S. DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE

## **USDA Designates 14 Wisconsin Counties as Primary Natural Disaster Areas**

News Release | Illinois | February 12, 2020

View PDF

Emergency Support to Producers in Surrounding Counties/Border States Also Available

**ILLINOIS, Feb. 12, 2020** — Agriculture Secretary Sonny Perdue designated 14 Wisconsin counties as primary natural disaster areas. Producers in Brown, Calumet, Door, Kenosha, Kewaunee, Manitowoc, Milwaukee, Oconto, Outagamie, Price, Racine, Sheboygan, Walworth, and Winnebago counties who suffered losses due to continuous rainfall and excessive moisture that occurred between Jan. 1 and Aug. 15, 2019, may be eligible for U.S. Department of Agriculture (USDA) Farm Service Agency (FSA) emergency loans.

This natural disaster designation allows FSA to extend much-needed emergency credit to producers recovering from natural disasters. Emergency loans can be used to meet various recovery needs including the replacement of essential items such as equipment or livestock, reorganization of a farming operation or the refinance of certain debts.

Producers in the contiguous Wisconsin counties of Ashland, Fond Du Lac, Forest, Green Lake, Iron, Jefferson, Langlade, Lincoln, Marinette, Menominee, Oneida, Ozaukee, Rock, Rusk, Sawyer, Shawano, Taylor, Vilas, Washington, Waukesha, Waupaca, and Waushara, along with Boone, Lake, and McHenry counties in Illinois, and Delta County in Michigan, are also eligible to apply for emergency loans.

The deadline to apply for these emergency loans is Oct. 5, 2020.

FSA will review the loans based on the extent of losses, security available and repayment ability.

FSA has a variety of additional programs to help farmers recover from the impacts of this disaster.

FSA programs that do not require a disaster declaration include: <a href="Emergency Assistance for Livestock">Emergency Assistance for Livestock</a>,

Honeybees and Farm-Raised Fish Program; <a href="Emergency Conservation Program">Emergency Conservation Program</a>; <a href="Livestock Forage">Livestock Forage</a>

Disaster Program; <a href="Livestock Indemnity Program">Livestock Indemnity Program</a>; <a href="Operating and Farm Ownership Loans">Operating and Farm Ownership Loans</a>; and the <a href="Tree Assistance Program">Tree Assistance Program</a>.

Farmers may contact their local USDA service center for further information on eligibility requirements and application procedures for these and other programs. Additional information is also available online at <a href="mailto:farmers.gov/recover">farmers.gov/recover</a>.

## Farm Service Agency:

1400 Independence Ave. SW Washington, DC 20250

## **Contact:**

**FPAC Press Desk** 

FPAC.BC.Press@usda.gov