

Farm Service Agency U.S. DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE

USDA Designates Two South Dakota Counties as Contiguous Natural Disaster Areas

News Release | South Dakota | July 27, 2023

View PDF

Primary Disaster Areas Located in North Dakota

This Secretarial natural disaster designation allows the United States Department of Agriculture (USDA) Farm Service Agency (FSA) to extend much-needed emergency credit to producers recovering from natural disasters through emergency loans. Emergency loans can be used to meet various recovery needs including the replacement of essential items such as equipment or livestock, reorganization of a farming operation, or to refinance certain debts. FSA will review the loans based on the extent of losses, security available, and repayment ability.

Impacted Area: North Dakota

Triggering Disaster: Drought that occurred during June 11, 2022 and continuing

Application Deadline: Nov. 6, 2023

Primary Counties Eligible: Burleigh, Emmons, Kidder, McKenzie, Mercer

Contiguous Counties Also Eligible:

North Dakota: Billings, Dunn, Golden Valley, Logan, McIntosh, McLean, Morton, Mountrail, Oliver, Sheridan, Sioux, Stark, Stutsman, Wells, and Williams

Montana: Richland, Roosevelt, and Wibaux

South Dakota: Campbell and Corson

More Resources

On farmers.gov, the <u>Disaster Assistance Discovery Tool</u>, <u>Disaster Assistance-at-a-Glance fact sheet</u>, and <u>Loan Assistance Tool</u> can help you determine program or loan options. To file a Notice of Loss or to ask questions about available programs, contact your local <u>USDA Service Center</u>.

#

Farm Service Agency:

1400 Independence Ave. SW Washington, DC 20250

Contact:

FPAC Press Desk

FPAC.BC.Press@usda.gov