

USDA Designates 11 South Dakota Counties as Contiguous Natural Disaster Areas

News Release | South Dakota | July 28, 2023

View PDF

Primary Disaster Areas Located in Nebraska

This Secretarial natural disaster designation allows the United States Department of Agriculture (USDA) Farm Service Agency (FSA) to extend much-needed emergency credit to producers recovering from natural disasters through <u>emergency loans</u>. Emergency loans can be used to meet various recovery needs including the replacement of essential items such as equipment or livestock, reorganization of a farming operation, or to refinance certain debts. FSA will review the loans based on the extent of losses, security available, and repayment ability.

According to the <u>U.S. Drought Monitor</u>, these counties suffered from a drought intensity value during the growing season of 1) D2 Drought-Severe for 8 or more consecutive weeks or 2) D3 Drought-Extreme or D4 Drought-Exceptional.

Impacted Area: Nebraska

Triggering Disaster: Drought

Application Deadline: Dec. 1, 2023

Primary Counties Eligible: Antelope, Arthur, Banner, Blaine, Boone, Boyd, Brown, Burt, Butler, Cedar, Chase, Cherry, Cheyenne, Colfax, Cuming, Dakota, Deuel, Dixon, Dodge, Douglas, Dundy, Frontier, Furnas, Garden, Greeley, Hall, Hamilton, Hayes, Hitchcock, Holt, Hooker, Howard, Keith, Keya Paha, Kimball, Lincoln, Loup, Madison, Merrick, Morrill, Nance, Perkins, Pierce, Platte, Polk, Red Willow, Rock, Saunders, Scotts Bluff, Stanton, Thomas, Thurston, Washington, Wayne, and Wheeler

Contiguous Counties Also Eligible:

Nebraska: Adams, Box Butte, Buffalo, Cass, Clay, Custer, Dawson, Garfield, Gosper, Grant, Harlan, Knox, Lancaster, Logan, McPherson, Phelps, Sarpy, Seward, Sheridan, Sherman, Sioux, Valley, and York

Colorado: Logan, Phillips, Sedgwick, Weld, and Yuma

Iowa: Harrison, Monona, Pottawattamie, and Woodbury

Kansas: Cheyenne, Decatur, Norton, Rawlins

South Dakota: Bennett, Charles Mix, Clay, Gregory, Oglala Lakota, Todd, Tripp, Union, and Yankton

Wyoming: Goshen and Laramie

Triggering Disaster 2: Drought

Application Deadline: Dec. 28, 2023

Primary Counties Eligible: Custer, Dawson, Gage, Garfield, Knox, Lancaster, Logan, McPherson, Saline, Seward, Sherman, Valley, and York

Contiguous Counties Also Eligible:

Nebraska: Antelope, Arthur, Blaine, Boyd, Buffalo, Butler, Cass, Cedar, Clay, Fillmore, Frontier, Gosper, Greeley, Hamilton, Holt, Hooker, Howard, Jefferson, Johnson, Keith, Lincoln, Loup, Otoe, Pawnee, Phelps, Pierce, Polk, Saunders, Thayer, Thomas, and Wheeler

Kansas: Marshall and Washington

South Dakota: Bon Homme, Charles Mix, and Yankton

Triggering Disaster 3: Drought

Application Deadline: Jan. 30, 2024

Primary Counties Eligible: Box Butte, Buffalo, Gosper, Harlan, Phelps, and Sioux

Contiguous Counties Also Eligible:

Nebraska: Adams, Custer, Dawes, Dawson, Franklin, Frontier, Furnas, Hall, Howard, Kearney, Morrill, Scotts Bluff, Sheridan, and Sherman

Kansas: Norton and Phillips

South Dakota: Fall River

Wyoming: Goshen and Niobrara

More Resources

On farmers.gov, the <u>Disaster Assistance Discovery Tool</u>, <u>Disaster Assistance-at-a-Glance fact sheet</u>, and <u>Loan Assistance Tool</u> can help you determine program or loan options. To file a Notice of Loss or to ask questions about available programs, contact your local <u>USDA Service Center</u>.

#

Farm Service Agency:

1400 Independence Ave. SW Washington, DC 20250

Contact:

FPAC Press Desk FPAC.BC.Press@usda.gov