

Farm Service Agency U.S. DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE

USDA Designates Lincoln, Pipestone, and Rock Counties in Minnesota as Contiguous Natural Disaster Areas Due to Drought in South Dakota

News Release | Minnesota | August 16, 2023

View PDF

Additional Contiguous Counties Eligible in South Dakota

This Secretarial natural disaster designation allows the United States Department of Agriculture (USDA) Farm Service Agency (FSA) to extend much-needed emergency credit to producers recovering from natural disasters through emergency loans. Emergency loans can be used to meet various recovery needs including the replacement of essential items such as equipment or livestock, reorganization of a farming operation, or to refinance certain debts. FSA will review the loans based on the extent of losses, security available, and repayment ability.

According to the <u>U.S. Drought Monitor</u>, these counties suffered from a drought intensity value during the growing season of 1) D2 Drought-Severe for 8 or more consecutive weeks or 2) D3 Drought-Extreme or D4 Drought-Exceptional.

Impacted Area: South Dakota

Triggering Disaster: Drought- (Fast Track) S5492

Application Deadline: April 15, 2024

Primary Counties Eligible: Moody

Contiguous Counties Also Eligible:

South Dakota: Brookings, Minnehaha

Minnesota: Lincoln, Pipestone, Rock

More Resources

On farmers.gov, the <u>Disaster Assistance Discovery Tool</u>, <u>Disaster Assistance-at-a-Glance fact sheet</u>, and Loan Assistance Tool can help you determine program or loan options. To file a Notice of Loss or

to ask questions about available programs, contact your local USDA Service Center.

Farm Service Agency:

1400 Independence Ave. SW Washington, DC 20250

Contact:

FPAC Press Desk

FPAC.BC.Press@usda.gov