

USDA Designates 6 Wisconsin Counties Primary Natural Disaster Areas News Release | Wisconsin | August 17, 2023

View PDF

This Secretarial natural disaster designation allows the United States Department of Agriculture (USDA) Farm Service Agency (FSA) to extend much-needed emergency credit to producers recovering from natural disasters through <u>emergency loans</u>. Emergency loans can be used to meet various recovery needs including the replacement of essential items such as equipment or livestock, reorganization of a farming operation, or to refinance certain debts. FSA will review the loans based on the extent of losses, security available, and repayment ability.

According to the <u>U.S. Drought Monitor</u>, these counties suffered from a drought intensity value during the growing season of 1) D2 Drought-Severe for 8 or more consecutive weeks or 2) D3 Drought-Extreme or D4 Drought-Exceptional.

Impacted Area: Wisconsin

Triggering Disaster: Drought (Fast Track)

Application Deadline: 04/15/2024

Primary Counties Eligible: Fond Du Lac, Green Lake, Portage, Waupaca, Waushara, Winnebago

Contiguous Counties Also Eligible: Adams, Calumet, Columbia, Crawford, Dodge, Douglas, Grant, Marathon, Marquette, Outagamie, Shawano, Sheboygan, Vernon, Washington, Wood

More Resources

On farmers.gov, the <u>Disaster Assistance Discovery Tool</u>, <u>Disaster Assistance-at-a-Glance fact sheet</u>, and <u>Loan Assistance Tool</u> can help you determine program or loan options. To file a Notice of Loss or to ask questions about available programs, contact your local <u>USDA Service Center</u>.

Farm Service Agency:

1400 Independence Ave. SW Washington, DC 20250

Contact:

FPAC Press Desk FPAC.BC.Press@usda.gov