

USDA Designates 31 New York Counties as Primary Natural Disaster Areas; 8 Pennsylvania Counties as Contiguous

News Release | Pennsylvania | August 22, 2023

View PDF

This Secretarial natural disaster designation allows the United States Department of Agriculture (USDA) Farm Service Agency (FSA) to extend much-needed emergency credit to producers recovering from natural disasters through <u>emergency loans</u>. Emergency loans can be used to meet various recovery needs including the replacement of essential items such as equipment or livestock, reorganization of a farming operation, or to refinance certain debts. FSA will review the loans based on the extent of losses, security available, and repayment ability.

Impacted Area: New York

Triggering Disaster: Freeze & Frost

Application Deadline: 4/17/2024

Primary Counties Eligible: Albany, Broome, Cattaraugus, Cayuga, Chautauqua, Chemung, Columbia, Cortland, Dutchess, Greene, Jefferson, Onondaga, Ontario, Orleans, Oswego, Otsego, Putnam, Rensselaer, Saratoga, Schenectady, Schoharie, Schuyler, Seneca, Steuben, Tioga, Tompkins, Ulster, Washington, Wayne, Westchester, Yates

Contiguous Counties Also Eligible:

New York: Allegany, Bronx, Chenango, Delaware, Erie, Essex, Fulton, Genesee, Hamilton, Herkimer, Lewis, Livingston, Madison, Monroe, Montgomery, Nassau, Niagara, Oneida, Orange, Rockland, St. Lawrence, Sullivan, Warren, Wyoming

Connecticut: Fairfield, Litchfield

Massachusetts: Berkshire

New Jersey: Bergen

Pennsylvania: Bradford, Erie, McKean, Potter, Susquehanna, Tioga, Warren, Wayne

More Resources

On farmers.gov, the <u>Disaster Assistance Discovery Tool</u>, <u>Disaster Assistance-at-a-Glance fact sheet</u>, and <u>Loan Assistance Tool</u> can help you determine program or loan options. To file a Notice of Loss or to ask questions about available programs, contact your local USDA Service Center.

Farm Service Agency:

1400 Independence Ave. SW Washington, DC 20250

Contact: FPAC Press Desk FPAC.BC.Press@usda.gov