

USDA Designates 21 Colorado Counties as Primary Natural Disaster Areas News Release | Arizona | March 18, 2020

View PDF

Emergency Support to Producers in Surrounding Counties/Border States Also Available

WASHINGTON, March 18, 2020 — Agriculture Secretary Sonny Perdue designated 21 Colorado counties as primary natural disaster areas. Producers who suffered losses due to recent drought may be eligible for U.S. Department of Agriculture (USDA) Farm Service Agency (FSA) <u>emergency loans</u>.

The Colorado counties with the primary natural disaster designation include Alamosa, Archuleta, Baca, Conejos, Costilla, Delta, Dolores, Garfield, Gunnison, Huerfano, La Plata, Las Animas, Mesa, Montezuma, Montrose, Ouray, Pitkin, Rio Blanco, Rio Grande, Saguache, and San Miguel.

This natural disaster designation allows FSA to extend much-needed emergency credit to producers recovering from natural disasters. Emergency loans can be used to meet various recovery needs including the replacement of essential items such as equipment or livestock, reorganization of a farming operation or the refinance of certain debts.

Producers in the contiguous Colorado counties of Bent, Chaffee, Custer, Eagle, Fremont, Hinsdale, Lake, Mineral, Moffat, Otero, Prowers, Pueblo, Routt, and San Juan, along with Apache County, Arizona; Morton and Stanton counties in Kansas; Colfax, Rio Arriba, San Juan, Taos, and Union counties in New Mexico; Cimarron County, Oklahoma; and Grand, San Juan, and Uintah counties in Utah, are also eligible to apply for emergency loans.

The deadline to apply for these emergency loans is Nov. 7, 2020.

FSA will review the loans based on the extent of losses, security available and repayment ability.

FSA has a variety of additional programs to help farmers recover from the impacts of this disaster. FSA programs that do not require a disaster declaration include: <u>Emergency Assistance for Livestock</u>, <u>Honeybees and Farm-Raised Fish Program</u>; <u>Emergency Conservation Program</u>; <u>Livestock Forage</u> <u>Disaster Program</u>; <u>Livestock Indemnity Program</u>; <u>Operating and Farm Ownership Loans</u>; and the <u>Tree</u> <u>Assistance Program</u>. Farmers may contact their local USDA service center for further information on eligibility requirements and application procedures for these and other programs. Additional information is also available online at <u>farmers.gov/recover</u>.

Farm Service Agency:

1400 Independence Ave. SW Washington, DC 20250

Contact:

FPAC Press Desk FPAC.BC.Press@usda.gov