

Federal Emergency Management Agency Designates Houston County, Minnesota as Contiguous Natural Disaster Area Due to Spring Flooding in

lowa

News Release | Minnesota | September 21, 2023

View PDF

This Presidential disaster declaration allows the United States Department of Agriculture (USDA) Farm Service Agency (FSA) to extend much-needed emergency credit to producers recovering from natural disasters through <u>emergency loans</u>. Emergency loans can be used to meet various recovery needs including the replacement of essential items such as equipment or livestock, reorganization of a farming operation, or to refinance certain debts. FSA will review the loans based on the extent of losses, security available, and repayment ability.

Impacted Area: Iowa, Illinois, Minnesota, Missouri, Wisconsin

Triggering Disaster: Flooding

Application Deadline: 4/25/2024

Primary Iowa Counties Eligible: Allamakee, Clayton, Des Moines, Dubuque, Jackson, Lee, Scott

Contiguous Counties Also Eligible:

Illinois: Carroll, Hancock, Henderson, Jo Daviess, Mercer, Rock Island

Iowa: Buchanan, Cedar, Clinton, Delaware, Fayette, Henry, Jones, Louisa, Muscatine, Van Buren, Winneshiek

Minnesota: Houston

Missouri: Clark

Wisconsin: Crawford, Grant, Vernon

More Resources

On farmers.gov, the <u>Disaster Assistance Discovery Tool</u>, <u>Disaster Assistance-at-a-Glance fact sheet</u>, and <u>Loan Assistance Tool</u> can help you determine program or loan options. To file a Notice of Loss or to ask questions about available programs, contact your local <u>USDA Service Center</u>.

FEMA offers different assistance programs for individual citizens, public groups including government agencies and private nonprofit organizations. To find the FEMA help you need following a disaster event, visit <u>fema.gov/assistance</u>.

Farm Service Agency:

1400 Independence Ave. SW Washington, DC 20250

Contact:

FPAC Press Desk FPAC.BC.Press@usda.gov