

## Farm Service Agency U.S. DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE

# One Contiguous County in Missouri Eligible as Federal Emergency Management Agency Designates 7 Iowa Counties as Primary Natural Disaster Areas

News Release | Missouri | September 22, 2023

View PDF

This Presidential disaster declaration allows the United States Department of Agriculture (USDA) Farm Service Agency (FSA) to extend much-needed emergency credit to producers recovering from natural disasters through <a href="mailto:emergency loans">emergency loans</a>. Emergency loans can be used to meet various recovery needs including the replacement of essential items such as equipment or livestock, reorganization of a farming operation, or to refinance certain debts. FSA will review the loans based on the extent of losses, security available, and repayment ability.

**Impacted Area**: lowa

Triggering Disaster: Flooding

Application Deadline: April 25, 2024

#### **Primary Counties Eligible:**

Iowa - Allamakee, Clayton, Des Moines, Dubuque, Jackson, Lee, and Scott

#### **Contiguous Counties Also Eligible:**

Missouri- Clark

#### **More Resources**

On farmers.gov, the <u>Disaster Assistance Discovery Tool</u>, <u>Disaster Assistance-at-a-Glance fact sheet</u>, and <u>Loan Assistance Tool</u> can help you determine program or loan options. To file a Notice of Loss or to ask questions about available programs, contact your local USDA Service Center.

FEMA offers different assistance programs for individual citizens, public groups including government agencies and private nonprofit organizations. To find the FEMA help you need following a disaster

### **Farm Service Agency:**

1400 Independence Ave. SW Washington, DC 20250

#### **Contact:**

FPAC Press Desk

FPAC.BC.Press@usda.gov