

USDA Designates Five New Mexico County as Primary Natural Disaster Area

News Release | Texas | September 28, 2023

View PDF

One Contiguous Texas Counties Also Eligible for Assistance

This Secretarial natural disaster designation allows the United States Department of Agriculture (USDA) Farm Service Agency (FSA) to extend much-needed emergency credit to producers recovering from natural disasters through <u>emergency loans</u>. Emergency loans can be used to meet various recovery needs including the replacement of essential items such as equipment or livestock, reorganization of a farming operation, or to refinance certain debts. FSA will review the loans based on the extent of losses, security available, and repayment ability.

Impacted Area: New Mexico

Triggering Disaster: Drought (Fast Track)

Application Deadline: May 13, 2024

Primary Counties Eligible: Catron, Dona Ana, Grant, Luna, and Sierra

Contiguous Counties Also Eligible: Cibola, Hidalgo, Lincoln, Otero, and Socorro

Arizona: Apache and Greenlee

Texas: El Paso

More Resources

On farmers.gov, the <u>Disaster Assistance Discovery Tool</u>, <u>Disaster Assistance-at-a-Glance fact sheet</u>, and <u>Loan Assistance Tool</u> can help you determine program or loan options. To file a Notice of Loss or to ask questions about available programs, contact your local <u>USDA Service Center</u>.

Farm Service Agency:

1400 Independence Ave. SW Washington, DC 20250

Contact:

FPAC Press Desk FPAC.BC.Press@usda.gov