

# Farm Service Agency U.S. DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE

## **USDA Designates 24 Texas Counties as Primary Natural Disaster Areas**

News Release | Texas | September 28, 2023

View PDF

This Secretarial natural disaster designation allows the United States Department of Agriculture (USDA) Farm Service Agency (FSA) to extend much-needed emergency credit to producers recovering from natural disasters through <a href="mailto:emergency loans">emergency loans</a>. Emergency loans can be used to meet various recovery needs including the replacement of essential items such as equipment or livestock, reorganization of a farming operation, or to refinance certain debts. FSA will review the loans based on the extent of losses, security available, and repayment ability.

According to the <u>U.S. Drought Monitor</u>, these counties suffered from a drought intensity value during the growing season of 1) D2 Drought-Severe for 8 or more consecutive weeks or 2) D3 Drought-Extreme or D4 Drought-Exceptional.

**Impacted Area**: Texas

Triggering Disaster #1: Drought (Fast Track)

Application Deadline: May 6, 2024

Primary Counties Eligible: Collin, Panola, Rusk, and Smith

Contiguous Counties Also Eligible: Cherokee, Dallas, Denton, Fannin, Grayson, Gregg, Harrison,

Henderson, Hunt, Nacogdoches, Rockwall, Shelby, Upshur, Van Zandt, and Wood

Louisiana: Caddo and De Soto

Impacted Area: Texas

Triggering Disaster #2: Drought (Fast Track)

Application Deadline: May 13, 2024

<u>Primary Counties Eligible:</u> Brewster, Culberson, Ellis, El Paso, Freestone, Harrison, Henderson, Jeff Davis, Loving, Navarro, Presidio, and Reeves

<u>Contiguous Counties Also Eligible:</u> Anderson, Cherokee, Dallas, Gregg, Hill, Hudspeth, Johnson, Kaufman, Leon, Limestone, Marion, Panola, Pecos, Rusk, Smith, Tarrant, Terrell, Upshur, Van Zandt, Ward, and Winkler

Louisiana: Caddo

New Mexico: Dona Ana, Eddy, Lea, and Otero

Impacted Area: Texas

**Triggering Disaster #3:** Drought (Fast Track)

Application Deadline: May 20, 2024

Primary Counties Eligible: Archer, Baylor, Hudspeth, Hunt, Jack, Kaufman, Rockwall, and Van

Zandt

<u>Contiguous Counties Also Eligible:</u> Clay, Collin, Culberson, Dallas, Delta, Ellis, El Paso, Fannin, Foard, Haskell, Henderson, Hopkins, Jeff Davis, Knox, Montague, Palo Pinto, Parker, Presidio, Rains, Smith, Throckmorton, Wichita, Wilbarger, Wise, Wood, and Young

New Mexico: Otero

#### **More Resources**

On farmers.gov, the <u>Disaster Assistance Discovery Tool</u>, <u>Disaster Assistance-at-a-Glance fact sheet</u>, and <u>Loan Assistance Tool</u> can help you determine program or loan options. To file a Notice of Loss or to ask questions about available programs, contact your local <u>USDA Service Center</u>.

# Farm Service Agency:

1400 Independence Ave.SW Washington, DC 20250

### **Contact:**

FPAC Press Desk

FPAC.BC.Press@usda.gov