Loao:	USDA
Logo.	000/1

Arizona Disaster Designations

News Release | Arizona | October 03, 2023

View PDF

Secretarial Drought Disaster Determination S5551

On September 25, 2023, Secretary of Agriculture, Thomas J. Vilsack, under 7 CFR 759.5(a), designated five (5) Arizona Counties as a primary disaster area due to drought intensity value during the growing season of 1) D2 Drought-Severe for 8 or more consecutive weeks or 2) D3 Drought-Extreme or D4 Drought-Exceptional. This designation makes farm operators in primary counties, and those counties contiguous to such primary counties, eligible to be considered for certain assistance from FSA, provided eligibility requirements are met. This assistance includes FSA emergency loans. Farmers in eligible counties have eight (8) months to apply for emergency loans. FSA considers each emergency loan application on its own merits, taking into account the extent of losses on the farm and the security and repayment ability of the operator. The incident period for production and physical losses in the counties named below is September 19, 2023. For the purpose of determining loan security values for loan applications, the beginning date of the incident period is September 19, 2023. Applications for emergency loans will be received through **May 28, 2024.**

Affected Counties and States

Arizona Primary Counties (5):

Cochise	Pima
Graham	Santa Cruz
Greenlee	

Contiguous Counties

In accordance with section 321(a) of the Consolidated Farm and Rural Development Act, counties that are contiguous to a designated primary county will be named as contiguous counties where

eligible family farmers may qualify for FSA emergency loan assistance. For this designation the contiguous counties in Arizona and surrounding states are:

Arizona Contiguous County (6):

Apache	Navajo	Gila
Pinal	Maricopa	Yuma

New Mexico Contiguous Counties (3)

Catron	Grant	Hidalgo
--------	-------	---------

A trigger of D3 on the US Drought Monitor allows for program benefits under these programs

LFP <u>https://www.fsa.usda.gov/Assets/USDA-FSA-Public/usdafiles/FactSheets/fsa_lfp-</u>livestockforageprogramfactsheet-2022_final.pdf

ELAP

https://www.fsa.usda.gov/programs-and-services/disaster-assistance-program/emergency-assist-forlivestock-honey-bees-fish/index

Contact Any questions regarding this notice should be directed to Farm Loan Programs in the Arizona State FSA Office.

Secretarial Drought Disaster Determination S5557

On September 25, 2023, Secretary of Agriculture, Thomas J. Vilsack, under 7 CFR 759.5(a), designated four (4) New Mexico Counties as a primary disaster area due to drought intensity value during the growing season of 1) D2 Drought-Severe for 8 or more consecutive weeks or 2) D3

Drought- Extreme or D4 Drought-Exceptional.

This designation makes farm operators in primary counties, and those counties contiguous to such primary counties, eligible to be considered for certain assistance from FSA, provided eligibility requirements are met. This assistance includes FSA emergency loans. Farmers in eligible counties have eight (8) months to apply for emergency loans. FSA considers each emergency loan application on its own merits, taking into account the extent of losses on the farm and the security and repayment ability of the operator.

Action

The incident period for production and physical losses in the counties named below is September 19, 2023.

For the purpose of determining loan security values for loan applications, the beginning date of the incident period is September 19, 2023.

Applications for emergency loans will be received through May 28, 2024.

Affected Counties and States

New Mexico Primary Counties (4):

Hidalgo	Santa Fe	Torrence
Valencia		

Contiguous Counties

In accordance with section 321(a) of the Consolidated Farm and Rural Development Act, counties that are contiguous to a designated primary county will be named as contiguous counties where eligible family farmers may qualify for FSA emergency loan assistance. For this designation the contiguous counties in Arizona and surrounding states are:

Arizona Contiguous County (2):

New Mexico Contiguous Counties (12):

Bernalillo	Cibola	Grant
Guadalupe	Lincoln	Los Alamos
Luna	Mora	Rio Arriba
Sandoval	San Miguel	Socorro

A trigger of D3 on the US Drought Monitor allows for program benefits under these programs

LFP <u>https://www.fsa.usda.gov/Assets/USDA-FSA-Public/usdafiles/FactSheets/fsa_lfp-</u>livestockforageprogramfactsheet-2022_final.pdf

ELAP

https://www.fsa.usda.gov/programs-and-services/disaster-assistance-program/emergency-assist-forlivestock-honey-bees-fish/index

Contact

Any questions regarding this notice should be directed to Farm Loan Programs in the Arizona

FSA Office.

Farm Service Agency:

1400 Independence Ave. SW Washington, DC 20250

Contact:

FPAC Press Desk FPAC.BC.Press@usda.gov