

# Farm Service Agency U.S. DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE

# USDA Designates 4 North Dakota Counties as Primary Natural Disaster Areas Six Contiguous Counties, Including Sheridan County Montana, Also Eligible for Assistance

News Release | Montana | October 06, 2023

View PDF

BOZEMAN, MT, October 6, 2023-This Secretarial natural disaster designation allows the United States Department of Agriculture (USDA) Farm Service Agency (FSA) to extend much-needed emergency credit to producers recovering from natural disasters through <a href="mailto:emergency loans">emergency loans</a>. Emergency loans can be used to meet various recovery needs including the replacement of essential items such as equipment or livestock, reorganization of a farming operation, or to refinance certain debts. FSA will review the loans based on the extent of losses, security available, and repayment ability.

According to the <u>U.S. Drought Monitor</u>, these counties suffered from a drought intensity value during the growing season of 1) D2 Drought-Severe for 8 or more consecutive weeks or 2) D3 Drought-Extreme or D4 Drought-Exceptional.

**Impacted Area**: North Dakota

**Triggering Disaster:** Drought

**Application Deadline**: 05/28/2024

Primary Counties Eligible: Burke, Divide, Renville, and Ward

#### **Contiguous Counties Also Eligible:**

North Dakota: Bottineau, McHenry, McLean, Mountrail, and Williams

Montana: Sheridan

#### **More Resources**

On farmers.gov, the <u>Disaster Assistance Discovery Tool</u>, <u>Disaster Assistance-at-a-Glance fact sheet</u>, and <u>Loan Assistance Tool</u> can help you determine program or loan options. To file a Notice of Loss or to ask questions about available programs, contact your local <u>USDA Service Center</u>.

## **Farm Service Agency:**

1400 Independence Ave. SW Washington, DC 20250

### **Contact:**

FPAC Press Desk

FPAC.BC.Press@usda.gov