

Farm Service Agency U.S. DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE

USDA Designates 76 Kansas Counties as Primary Natural Disaster Areas

News Release | Colorado | April 11, 2023

View PDF

This Secretarial natural disaster designation allows the United States Department of Agriculture (USDA) Farm Service Agency (FSA) to extend much-needed emergency credit to producers recovering from natural disasters through emergency loans. Emergency loans can be used to meet various recovery needs including the replacement of essential items such as equipment or livestock, reorganization of a farming operation, or to refinance certain debts. FSA will review the loans based on the extent of losses, security available, and repayment ability.

According to the <u>U.S. Drought Monitor</u>, these counties suffered from a drought intensity value during the growing season of 1) D2 Drought-Severe for 8 or more consecutive weeks or 2) D3 Drought-Extreme or D4 Drought-Exceptional.

Impacted Area: Kansas

Triggering Disaster: Drought

Application Deadline: November 17, 2023

Primary Counties Eligible: Allen, Anderson, Barber, Barton, Bourbon, Butler, Chautauqua, Cherokee, Cheyenne, Clark, Coffey, Comanche, Cowley, Crawford, Decatur, Edwards, Elk, Ellis, Ellsworth, Finney, Ford, Franklin, Gove, Graham, Grant, Gray, Greeley, Greenwood, Hamilton, Harper, Harvey, Haskell, Hodgeman, Kearny, Kingman, Kiowa, Labette, Lane, Lincoln, Logan, Lyon, McPherson, Marion, Meade, Montgomery, Morton, Neosho, Ness, Norton, Osage, Osborne, Pawnee, Phillips, Pratt, Rawlins, Reno, Rice, Rooks, Rush, Russell, Scott, Sedgwick, Seward, Sheridan, Sherman, Smith, Stafford, Stanton, Stevens, Summer, Thomas, Trego, Wallace, Wichita, Wilson, and Woodson

Contiguous Counties Also Eligible:

Kansas: Chase, Dickinson, Douglas, Jewell, Johnson, Linn, Miami, Mitchell. Morris, Ottawa, Saline,

Shawnee, and Wabaunsee

Colorado: Baca, Cheyenne, Kiowa, Kit Carson, Prowers, and Yuma

Missouri: Barton, Jasper, Newton, and Vernon

Nebraska: Dundy, Franklin, Furnas, Harlan, Hitchcock, Red Willow, and Webster

Oklahoma: Alfalfa, Beaver, Cimarron, Craig, Grant, Harper, Kay, Nowata, Osage, Ottawa, Texas,

Washington, and Woods

More Resources

On farmers.gov, the <u>Disaster Assistance Discovery Tool</u>, <u>Disaster Assistance-at-a-Glance fact sheet</u>, and <u>Loan Assistance Tool</u> can help you determine program or loan options. To file a Notice of Loss or to ask questions about available programs, contact your local USDA Service Center.

Farm Service Agency:

1400 Independence Ave. SW Washington, DC 20250

Contact:

FPAC Press Desk

FPAC.BC.Press@usda.gov