

USDA Designates 17 Utah Counties as Primary Natural Disaster Areas News Release | Colorado | April 11, 2023

View PDF

This Secretarial natural disaster designation allows the United States Department of Agriculture (USDA) Farm Service Agency (FSA) to extend much-needed emergency credit to producers recovering from natural disasters through <u>emergency loans</u>. Emergency loans can be used to meet various recovery needs including the replacement of essential items such as equipment or livestock, reorganization of a farming operation, or to refinance certain debts. FSA will review the loans based on the extent of losses, security available, and repayment ability.

According to the <u>U.S. Drought Monitor</u>, these counties suffered from a drought intensity value during the growing season of 1) D2 Drought-Severe for 8 or more consecutive weeks or 2) D3 Drought-Extreme or D4 Drought-Exceptional.

Impacted Area: Utah

Triggering Disaster: Drought

Application Deadline: November 17, 2023

Primary Counties Eligible: Beaver, Box Elder, Carbon, Duchesne, Emery, Garfield, Grand, Iron, Juab, Kane, Millard, San Juan, Sevier, Tooele, Uintah, Washington, and Wayne

Contiguous Counties Also Eligible:

Utah: Cache, Daggett, Davis, Piute, Salt Lake, Sanpete, Summit, Utah, Wasatch, and Weber
Arizona: Apache, Coconino, Mohave, and Navajo
Colorado: Dolores, Garfield, Mesa, Moffat, Montezuma, Montrose, Rio Blanco, and San Miguel
Idaho: Cassia and Oneida
Nevada: Elko, Lincoln, and White Pine
New Mexico: San Juan

More Resources

On farmers.gov, the <u>Disaster Assistance Discovery Tool</u>, <u>Disaster Assistance-at-a-Glance fact sheet</u>, and <u>Loan Assistance Tool</u> can help you determine program or loan options. To file a Notice of Loss or

to ask questions about available programs, contact your local USDA Service Center.

Farm Service Agency:

1400 Independence Ave. SW Washington, DC 20250

Contact:

FPAC Press Desk FPAC.BC.Press@usda.gov