

Farm Service Agency U.S. DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE

USDA Designates 9 Wyoming Counties as Primary Natural Disaster Areas

News Release | Colorado | April 17, 2023

View PDF

This Secretarial natural disaster designation allows the United States Department of Agriculture (USDA) Farm Service Agency (FSA) to extend much-needed emergency credit to producers recovering from natural disasters through emergency loans. Emergency loans can be used to meet various recovery needs including the replacement of essential items such as equipment or livestock, reorganization of a farming operation, or to refinance certain debts. FSA will review the loans based on the extent of losses, security available, and repayment ability.

Impacted Area: Wyoming

Triggering Disaster: Excessive Snow, High Winds, and Freezing Conditions

Application Deadline: November 29, 2023

<u>Primary Counties Eligible:</u> Albany, Carbon, Converse, Fremont, Johnson, Natrona, Sheridan, Sweetwater, and Uinta

Contiguous Counties Also Eligible:

Wyoming: Big Horn, Campbell, Hot Springs, Laramie, Lincoln, Niobrara, Park, Platte, Sublette, Teton,

Washakie, and Weston

Colorado: Jackson, Larimer, Moffat, and Routt

Montana: Big Horn and Powder River **Utah:** Daggett, Rich, and Summit

More Resources

On farmers.gov, the <u>Disaster Assistance Discovery Tool</u>, <u>Disaster Assistance-at-a-Glance fact sheet</u>, and <u>Loan Assistance Tool</u> can help you determine program or loan options. To file a Notice of Loss or to ask questions about available programs, contact your local USDA Service Center.

Farm Service Agency:

1400 Independence Ave. SW Washington, DC 20250

Contact:

FPAC Press Desk

FPAC.BC.Press@usda.gov