

Farm Service Agency U.S. DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE

USDA Designates 75 Texas Counties as Primary Natural Disaster Areas

News Release | Texas | October 18, 2023

View PDF

This Secretarial natural disaster designation allows the United States Department of Agriculture (USDA) Farm Service Agency (FSA) to extend much-needed emergency credit to producers recovering from natural disasters through <u>emergency loans</u>. Emergency loans can be used to meet various recovery needs including the replacement of essential items such as equipment or livestock, reorganization of a farming operation, or to refinance certain debts. FSA will review the loans based on the extent of losses, security available, and repayment ability.

Impacted Area: Texas

Triggering Disaster #1: Excessive Heat

Application Deadline: May 29, 2024

Primary Counties Eligible:

Anderson	Archer	Baylor	Bexar
Blanco	Brown	Burnet	Caldwell
Comal	Deaf Smith	Ellis	Fannin
Foard	Gillespie	Grayson	Hardeman
Haskell	Hays	Henderson	Houston
Kaufman	Kendall	Lampasas	Leon
Limestone	McLennan	Madison	Navarro

Rockwall	Runnels	Stonewall	Van Zandt
Wilbarger			

Contiguous Counties Also Eligible:

Angelina	Atascosa	Bandera	Bastrop
Bell	Bosque	Brazos	Callahan
Castro	Cherokee	Childress	Clay
Coke	Coleman	Collin	Comanche
Concho	Cooke	Coryell	Cottle
Dallas	Delta	Denton	Dickens
Eastland	Falls	Fayette	Fisher
Freestone	Gonzales	Grimes	Guadalupe
Hamilton	Hill	Hunt	Jack
Johnson	Jones	Kent	Kerr
Kimble	King	Knox	Lamar
Llano	McCulloch	Mason	Medina
Mills	Nolan	Oldham	Parmer
Potter	Rains	Randall	Robertson
San Saba	Shackelford	Smith	Tarrant

Taylor	Throckmorton	Tom Green	Travis
Trinity	Walker	Wichita	Williamson
Wilson	Wood	Young	

New Mexico: Curry and Quay

Oklahoma: Bryan, Harmon, Jackson, Love, Marshall, and Tillman

Impacted Area: Texas

Triggering Disaster #2: Excessive Heat and Drought

Application Deadline: May 29, 2024

Primary Counties Eligible:

Austin	Bailey	Bell	Bosque
Cameron	Cochran	Coke	Colorado
Coryell	Dawson	Duval	Erath
Falls	Fisher	Gonzales	Hill
Hood	Jefferson	Johnson	Lavaca
Llano	McCulloch	Mason	Matagorda
Nacogdoches	Nolan	Palo Pinto	Robertson
San Augustine	Shelby	Sterling	Throckmorton
Tom Green	Trinity	Washington	Webb
Wharton	Willacy	Williamson	Wilson

Wise Yo	ing		
---------	-----	--	--

Contiguous Counties Also Eligible:

Angelina	Archer	Atascosa	Bastrop
Baylor	Bexar	Blanco	Borden
Brazoria	Brazos	Brooks	Brown
Burleson	Burnet	Caldwell	Calhoun
Chambers	Cherokee	Coleman	Comanche
Concho	Cooke	Denton	DeWitt
Dimmit	Eastland	Ellis	Fayette
Fort Bend	Gaines	Gillespie	Glasscock
Grimes	Guadalupe	Hamilton	Hardin
Haskell	Hidalgo	Hockley	Houston
Howard	Irion	Jack	Jackson
Jasper	Jim Hogg	Jim Wells	Jones
Karnes	Kenedy	Kent	Kimble
Knox	Lamb	Lampasas	La Salle
Lee	Leon	Liberty	Limestone
Live Oak	Lynn	McLennan	McMullen

Madison	Martin	Maverick	Menard
Milam	Mitchell	Montague	Navarro
Panola	Parker	Parmer	Polk
Reagan	Runnels	Rusk	Sabine
San Jacinto	San Saba	Schleicher	Scurry
Shackelford	Somervell	Stephens	Stonewall
Tarrant	Taylor	Terry	Travis
Victoria	Walker	Waller	Yoakum
Zapata			

Louisiana: De Soto and Sabine

New Mexico: Curry, Lea, and Roosevelt

More Resources

On farmers.gov, the <u>Disaster Assistance Discovery Tool</u>, <u>Disaster Assistance-at-a-Glance fact sheet</u>, and <u>Loan Assistance Tool</u> can help you determine program or loan options. To file a Notice of Loss or to ask questions about available programs, contact your local <u>USDA Service Center</u>.

Farm Service Agency:

1400 Independence Ave. SW Washington, DC 20250

Contact:

FPAC Press Desk

FPAC.BC.Press@usda.gov