

Farm Service Agency U.S. DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE

USDA Designates Clearwater, Kittson, Lake of the Woods, and Roseau Counties as Primary Natural Disaster Areas Due to Drought

News Release | Minnesota | October 24, 2023

View PDF

Numerous Minnesota Counties Designated as Contiguous Areas Due to Drought in Minnesota and
North Dakota

This Secretarial natural disaster designation allows the United States Department of Agriculture (USDA) Farm Service Agency (FSA) to extend much-needed emergency credit to producers recovering from natural disasters through emergency loans. Emergency loans can be used to meet various recovery needs including the replacement of essential items such as equipment or livestock, reorganization of a farming operation, or to refinance certain debts. FSA will review the loans based on the extent of losses, security available, and repayment ability.

According to the <u>U.S. Drought Monitor</u>, these counties suffered from a drought intensity value during the growing season of 1) D2 Drought-Severe for 8 or more consecutive weeks or 2) D3 Drought-Extreme or D4 Drought-Exceptional.

Impacted Area: Minnesota

Triggering Disaster 1: Drought (Fast Track) S5574

Application Deadline: June 10, 2024

Primary Counties Eligible: Kittson

Contiguous Counties Also Eligible:

Minnesota: Marshall, Roseau

North Dakota: Pembina

Triggering Disaster 2: Drought (Fast Track) S5582

Application Deadline: June 20, 2024

Primary Counties Eligible: Clearwater, Lake of the Woods, Roseau

Contiguous Counties Also Eligible:

Minnesota: Becker, Beltrami, Hubbard, Kittson, Koochiching, Mahnomen, Marshall, Pennington, Polk

Triggering Disaster 3: Drought (Fast Track) S5577

Application Deadline: June 10, 2024

Primary Counties Eligible: Pembina, Walsh

Contiguous Counties Also Eligible:

Minnesota: Kittson, Marshall

North Dakota: Cavalier, Grand Forks, Nelson, Ramsey

Triggering Disaster 4: Drought (Fast Track) S5589

Application Deadline: June 24, 2024

Primary Counties Eligible: Marshall

Contiguous Counties Also Eligible:

Minnesota: Beltrami, Kittson, Pennington, Polk, Roseau

North Dakota: Grand Forks, Pembina, Walsh

More Resources

On farmers.gov, the <u>Disaster Assistance Discovery Tool</u>, <u>Disaster Assistance-at-a-Glance fact sheet</u>, and <u>Loan Assistance Tool</u> can help you determine program or loan options. To file a Notice of Loss or to ask questions about available programs, contact your local <u>USDA Service Center</u>.

Farm Service Agency:

1400 Independence Ave.

SW Washington, DC 20250

Contact:

FPAC Press Desk

FPAC.BC.Press@usda.gov