Logo:	USDA

# USDA Designates 29 Tennessee Counties as Primary Natural Disaster Areas News Release | Tennessee | November 14, 2023

View PDF

This Secretarial natural disaster designation allows the United States Department of Agriculture (USDA) Farm Service Agency (FSA) to extend much-needed emergency credit to producers recovering from natural disasters through <u>emergency loans</u>. Emergency loans can be used to meet various recovery needs including the replacement of essential items such as equipment or livestock, reorganization of a farming operation, or to refinance certain debts. FSA will review the loans based on the extent of losses, security available, and repayment ability.

According to the <u>U.S. Drought Monitor</u>, these counties suffered from a drought intensity value during the growing season of 1) D2 Drought-Severe for 8 or more consecutive weeks or 2) D3 Drought-Extreme or D4 Drought-Exceptional.

Impacted Area: Tennessee

Triggering Disaster: Drought (Fast-track)

#### Application Deadline: 7/8/2024

**Primary Counties Eligible:** Anderson, Bedford, Blount, Cannon, Coffee, Cumberland, DeKalb, Fayette, Giles, Hardeman, Haywood, Hickman, Knox, Lewis, Lincoln, Loudon, Madison, Marshall, Maury, Monroe, Moore, Morgan, Polk, Roane, Rutherford, Shelby, Tipton, White, Williamson

#### **Contiguous Counties Also Eligible:**

Alabama: Lauderdale, Limestone, Madison

Arkansas: Crittenden, Mississippi

Georgia: Fannin, Murray

Mississippi: Alcorn, Benton, DeSoto, Marshall, Tippah

North Carolina: Cherokee, Graham, Swain

**Tennessee**: Bledsoe, Bradley, Campbell, Carroll, Cheatham, Chester, Crockett, Davidson, Dickson, Fentress, Franklin, Gibson, Grainger, Grundy, Henderson, Humphreys, Jefferson, Lauderdale, Lawrence, McMinn, McNairy, Meigs, Perry, Putnam, Rhea, Scott, Sevier, Smith, Union, Van Buren, Warren, Wayne, Wilson

Impacted Area: Alabama

Triggering Disaster 2: Drought (Fast Track)

Application Deadline: 7/8/2024

**Primary Counties Eligible:** Blount, Covington, Geneva, Lawrence, Limestone, Marion, Walker, Winston

#### **Contiguous Counties Also Eligible:**

**Alabama:** Butler, Coffee, Colbert, Conecuh, Crenshaw, Cullman, Dale, Escambia, Etowah, Fayette, Franklin, Houston, Jefferson, Lamar, Lauderdale, Madison, Marshall, Morgan, St. Clair, Tuscaloosa

Florida: Holmes, Jackson, Okaloosa, Walton

Mississippi: Itawamba, Monroe

Tennessee: Giles, Lincoln

Impacted Area: Georgia

Triggering Disaster: Drought (Fast-track)

Application Deadline: 7/8/2024

**Primary Counties Eligible:** Bartow, Cherokee, Dawson, Fannin, Floyd, Gilmer, Gordon, Lumpkin, Murray, Pickens, Whitfield

#### Contiguous Counties Also Eligible:

Alabama: Cherokee

Georgia: Catoosa, Chattooga, Cobb, Forsyth, Fulton, Hall, Paulding, Polk, Union, Walker, White

North Carolina: Cherokee

Tennessee: Bradley, Hamilton, Polk

Impacted Area: Mississippi

Triggering Disaster: Drought (Fast-track)

Application Deadline: 7/8/2024

Primary Counties Eligible: Benton, DeSoto, Lee, Monroe, Pontotoc, Tippah, Union

### Contiguous Counties Also Eligible:

Alabama: Lamar, Marion

Arkansas: Crittenden

**Mississippi:** Alcorn, Calhoun, Chickasaw, Clay, Itawamba, Lafayette, Lowndes, Marshall, Prentiss, Tate, Tunica

Tennessee: Fayette, Hardeman, Hardin, Shelby

#### **More Resources**

On farmers.gov, the <u>Disaster Assistance Discovery Tool</u>, <u>Disaster Assistance-at-a-Glance fact sheet</u>, and <u>Loan Assistance Tool</u> can help you determine program or loan options. To file a Notice of Loss or to ask questions about available programs, contact your local <u>USDA Service Center</u>.

## Farm Service Agency:

1400 Independence Ave. SW Washington, DC 20250

Contact: FPAC Press Desk FPAC.BC.Press@usda.gov