

Federal Emergency Management Agency Designates 10 Montana Counties as Primary Natural Disaster Areas; 17 Contiguous Counties are also Eligible

News Release | Montana | November 20, 2023

View PDF

This Presidential disaster declaration allows the United States Department of Agriculture (USDA) Farm Service Agency (FSA) to extend much-needed emergency credit to producers recovering from natural disasters through <u>emergency loans</u>. Emergency loans can be used to meet various recovery needs including the replacement of essential items such as equipment or livestock, reorganization of a farming operation, or to refinance certain debts. FSA will review the loans based on the extent of losses, security available, and repayment ability.

Impacted Area: Montana

Triggering Disaster: Flooding

Application Deadline: 06/11/2024

Primary Counties Eligible: Carbon, Daniels, Fergus, Garfield, Golden Valley, Musselshell, Petroleum, Phillips, Stillwater and Treasure

Contiguous Counties Also Eligible:

Montana: Big Horn, Blaine, Chouteau, Custer, Judith Basin, McCone, Park, Prairie, Roosevelt, Rosebud, Sheridan, Sweet Grass, Valley, Wheatland and Yellowstone

Wyoming: Big Horn and Park

More Resources

On farmers.gov, the <u>Disaster Assistance Discovery Tool</u>, <u>Disaster Assistance-at-a-Glance fact sheet</u>, and <u>Loan Assistance Tool</u> can help you determine program or loan options. To file a Notice of Loss or to ask questions about available programs, contact your local <u>USDA Service Center</u>. FEMA offers different assistance programs for individual citizens, public groups including government agencies and private nonprofit organizations. To find the FEMA help you need following a disaster event, visit fema.gov/assistance.

#

Farm Service Agency:

1400 Independence Ave. SW Washington, DC 20250

Contact: FPAC Press Desk FPAC.BC.Press@usda.gov