

Farm Service Agency U.S. DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE

Federal Emergency Management Agency Designates 25 Georgia Counties as Primary Natural Disaster Areas

News Release | Georgia | November 21, 2023

View PDF

This Presidential disaster declaration allows the United States Department of Agriculture (USDA) Farm Service Agency (FSA) to extend much-needed emergency credit to producers recovering from natural disasters through emergency loans. Emergency loans can be used to meet various recovery needs including the replacement of essential items such as equipment or livestock, reorganization of a farming operation, or to refinance certain debts. FSA will review the loans based on the extent of losses, security available, and repayment ability.

Impacted Area: Georgia, Florida, South Carolina

Triggering Disaster: Hurricane Idalia

Incident Period: August 30, 2023

Application Deadline: May 9, 2024

<u>Primary Counties Eligible:</u> Georgia: Appling, Atkinson, Bacon, Berrien, Brantley, Brooks, Bulloch, Camden, Candler, Charlton, Clinch, Coffee, Colquitt, Echols, Emanuel, Jeff Davis, Jenkins, Lanier, Pierce, Screven, Tattnall, Thomas, Tift, Ware, Wayne

Contiguous Counties Also Eligible:

Georgia: Ben Hill, Bryan, Burke, Cook, Effingham, Evans, Glynn, Grady, Irwin, Jefferson, Johnson, Laurens, Liberty, Long, Lowndes, McIntosh, Mitchell, Montgomery, Telfair, Toombs, Treutlen, Turner, Wheeler, Worth **Florida:** Baker, Columbia, Hamilton, Jefferson, Leon, Madison, Nassau

South Carolina: Allendale, Hampton

More Resources

On farmers.gov, the <u>Disaster Assistance Discovery Tool</u>, <u>Disaster Assistance-at-a-Glance fact sheet</u>, and <u>Loan Assistance Tool</u> can help you determine program or loan options. To file a Notice of Loss or to ask questions about available programs, contact your local <u>USDA Service Center</u>.

Farm Service Agency:

1400 Independence Ave. SW Washington, DC 20250

Contact:

FPAC Press Desk

FPAC.BC.Press@usda.gov