

## USDA Designates Four New York Counties as Primary Natural Disaster Areas

News Release | New York | December 06, 2023

View PDF

Contact: Lynnette Wright lynnette.wright@usda.gov

This Secretarial natural disaster designation allows the United States Department of Agriculture (USDA) Farm Service Agency (FSA) to extend much-needed emergency credit to producers recovering from natural disasters through <u>emergency loans</u>. Emergency loans can be used to meet various recovery needs including the replacement of essential items such as equipment or livestock, reorganization of a farming operation, or to refinance certain debts. FSA will review the loans based on the extent of losses, security available, and repayment ability.

Impacted Area: New York

Triggering Disaster: Tornado and Excessive Rain\_

Application Deadline: 8/5/2024

Primary Counties Eligible: Clinton, Franklin, Lewis, Onondaga

#### **Contiguous Counties Also Eligible:**

**New York**: Cayuga, Cortland, Essex, Hamilton, Herkimer, Jefferson, Madison, Oneida, Oswego, St. Lawrence

Vermont: Chittenden, Grand Isle

#### More Resources

On farmers.gov, the <u>Disaster Assistance Discovery Tool</u>, <u>Disaster Assistance-at-a-Glance fact sheet</u>, and <u>Loan Assistance Tool</u> can help you determine program or loan options. To file a Notice of Loss or to ask questions about available programs, contact your local <u>USDA Service Center</u>.

# Farm Service Agency:

1400 Independence Ave. SW Washington, DC 20250

### Contact:

FPAC Press Desk FPAC.BC.Press@usda.gov