

## USDA Designates 2 Kentucky Counties as Contiguous Natural Disaster Areas for Drought

News Release | Kentucky | December 11, 2023

View PDF

This Secretarial natural disaster designation allows the United States Department of Agriculture (USDA) Farm Service Agency (FSA) to extend much-needed emergency credit to producers recovering from natural disasters through <u>emergency loans</u>. Emergency loans can be used to meet various recovery needs including the replacement of essential items such as equipment or livestock, reorganization of a farming operation, or to refinance certain debts. FSA will review the loans based on the extent of losses, security available, and repayment ability.

According to the <u>U.S. Drought Monitor</u>, these counties suffered from a drought intensity value during the growing season of 1) D2 Drought-Severe for eight or more consecutive weeks or 2) D3 Drought-Extreme or D4 Drought-Exceptional.

Impacted Area: Tennessee

Triggering Disaster: Drought

Application Deadline: 08/05/2024

Primary Counties Eligible: Claiborne, Fentress, Jackson, Jefferson, Overton, Sevier, Smith

### **Contiguous Counties Also Eligible:**

**Tennessee:** Blount, Campbell, Clay, Cocke, Cumberland, DeKalb, Grainger, Hamblen, Hancock, Knox, Macon, Morgan, Pickett, Putnam, Scott, Trousdale, Union, Wilson

Kentucky: Bell and Whitley

North Carolina: Haywood

Virginia: Lee

#### More Resources

On farmers.gov, the <u>Disaster Assistance Discovery Tool</u>, <u>Disaster Assistance-at-a-Glance fact sheet</u>, and <u>Loan Assistance Tool</u> can help you determine program or loan options. To file a Notice of Loss or to ask questions about available programs, contact your <u>local USDA Service Center</u>.

# Farm Service Agency:

1400 Independence Ave. SW Washington, DC 20250

## Contact:

FPAC Press Desk FPAC.BC.Press@usda.gov