

Farm Service Agency U.S. DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE

<u>Presidential Major Disaster Declaration Issued Impacting Five Iowa</u> Counties

News Release | Iowa | October 12, 2023

View PDF

A Presidential Major Disaster Declaration has been issued naming thirty-three (33) Missouri counties as primary disaster counties due to severe storms, straight-line winds, tornadoes, and flooding. Additionally, five (5) Iowa counties are contiguous to the disaster area. This determination will allow the Farm Service Agency's Emergency Loans to be made available to eligible family farmers with qualifying production and physical losses in the primary and the contiguous counties to the declared disaster area.

Presidential Declaration Number: M4741

Emergency Loan Application Deadline: May 21, 2024

Primary Counties Eligible: Primary county(ies) located in Missouri

Contiguous Counties Also Eligible: Davis, Lee, Ringgold, Taylor, Van Buren (Iowa)

Disaster Description: Severe Storms, straight-line winds, and flooding that occurred on July 29, 2023

More Resources

On farmers.gov, the <u>Disaster Assistance Discovery Tool</u>, <u>Disaster Assistance-at-a-Glance fact sheet</u>, and <u>Loan Assistance Tool</u> can help you determine program or loan options. To file a Notice of Loss or to ask questions about available programs, contact your local <u>USDA Service Center</u>.

Farm Service Agency:

1400 Independence Ave.SW Washington, DC 20250

Contact:

FPAC Press Desk

FPAC.BC.Press@usda.gov