

USDA Designates Lyon and Osceola Counties as Disaster Areas Due to Drought

News Release | Iowa | October 04, 2023

View PDF

A Secretarial Disaster Designation has been issued for two (2) counties in Minnesota as primary disaster area for drought. Additionally, two (2) Iowa counties are contiguous to the disaster area. This determination will allow the Farm Service Agency's Emergency Loans to be made available to eligible family farmers with qualifying production and physical losses in the primary and the contiguous counties to the declared disaster area.

Secretarial Declaration Number: S5562 Emergency Loan Application Deadline: May 29, 2024 Primary Counties Eligible: Primary county(ies) located in Minnesota Contiguous Counties Also Eligible: Lyon and Osceola Counties (Iowa) Disaster Description: Drought. August 8, 2023 beginning date of incident.

More Resources

On farmers.gov, the <u>Disaster Assistance Discovery Tool</u>, <u>Disaster Assistance-at-a-Glance fact sheet</u>, and <u>Loan Assistance Tool</u> can help you determine program or loan options. To file a Notice of Loss or to ask questions about available programs, contact your local USDA Service Center.

Farm Service Agency: 1400 Independence Ave.

SW Washington, DC 20250

Contact: FPAC Press Desk FPAC.BC.Press@usda.gov