

Farm Service Agency U.S. DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE

usda-designates-five-iowa-counties-as-disaster-areas-due-to-drought

News Release | Iowa | September 18, 2023

View PDF

A Secretarial Disaster Designation has been issued for one (1) county in Iowa as primary disaster area for drought. Additionally, four (4) Iowa counties are contiguous to the disaster area. This determination will allow the Farm Service Agency's Emergency Loans to be made available to eligible family farmers with qualifying production and physical losses in the primary and the contiguous counties to the declared disaster area.

Secretarial Declaration Number: S5543

Emergency Loan Application Deadline: May 20, 2024

Primary Counties Eligible: Winnebago

Contiguous Counties Also Eligible: Cerro Gordo, Hancock, Kossuth, Worth **Disaster Description:** Drought. September 12, 2023 beginning date of incident.

More Resources

On farmers.gov, the <u>Disaster Assistance Discovery Tool</u>, <u>Disaster Assistance-at-a-Glance fact sheet</u>, and <u>Loan Assistance Tool</u> can help you determine program or loan options. To file a Notice of Loss or to ask questions about available programs, contact your local USDA Service Center.

Farm Service Agency:

1400 Independence Ave. SW Washington, DC 20250

Contact:

FPAC Press Desk

FPAC.BC.Press@usda.gov