

## Farm Service Agency U.S. DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE

# Des Moines and Louisa Counties Designated by USDA as Disaster Areas Due to Drought

News Release | Iowa | August 14, 2023

View PDF

A Secretarial Disaster Designation has been issued for three (3) counties in Illinois as primary disaster areas for drought. Additionally, two (2) lowa counties are contiguous to the disaster area. This determination will allow the Farm Service Agency's Emergency Loans to be made available to eligible family farmers with qualifying production and physical losses in the primary and the contiguous counties to the declared disaster area.

**Secretarial Declaration Number:** S5487

Emergency Loan Application Deadline: April 15, 2024

Primary Counties Eligible: Primary counties located in Illinois

Contiguous Counties Also Eligible: Des Moines and Louisa (Iowa)

**Disaster Description:** Drought. June 20, 2023, beginning date of incident period.

#### **More Resources**

On farmers.gov, the <u>Disaster Assistance Discovery Tool</u>, <u>Disaster Assistance-at-a-Glance fact sheet</u>, and <u>Loan Assistance Tool</u> can help you determine program or loan options. Visit the <u>USDA Disaster Designation Information</u> site to view a full listing of disaster designations. To file a Notice of Loss or to ask questions about available programs, contact your local <u>USDA Service Center</u>.

### Farm Service Agency:

1400 Independence Ave. SW Washington, DC 20250

### **Contact:**

FPAC Press Desk

FPAC.BC.Press@usda.gov