

Farm Service Agency U.S. DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE

Four Iowa Counties Impacted by Recent USDA Disaster Designation

News Release | Iowa | July 24, 2023

View PDF

A Secretarial Disaster Designation has been issued for nine (9) counties in Minnesota as primary disaster areas for drought. Additionally, four (4) lowa counties are contiguous to the disaster area. This determination will allow the Farm Service Agency's Emergency Loans to be made available to eligible family farmers with qualifying production and physical losses in the primary and the contiguous counties to the declared disaster area.

Secretarial Declaration Number: S5464

Emergency Loan Application Deadline: March 25, 2024
Primary Counties Eligible: Multiple Counties in Minnesota

Contiguous Counties Also Eligible: Howard, Mitchell, Winneshiek, Worth Disaster Description: Drought. July18, 2023, beginning date of incident period.

More Resources

On farmers.gov, the <u>Disaster Assistance Discovery Tool</u>, <u>Disaster Assistance-at-a-Glance fact sheet</u>, and <u>Loan Assistance Tool</u> can help you determine program or loan options. Visit the <u>USDA Disaster Designation Information</u> site to view a full listing of disaster designations. To file a Notice of Loss or to ask questions about available programs, contact your local <u>USDA Service Center</u>.

Farm Service Agency:

1400 Independence Ave. SW Washington, DC 20250

Contact:

FPAC Press Desk

FPAC.BC.Press@usda.gov