

Nebraska Disaster Designation Impacts Three Iowa Counties

News Release | Iowa | June 05, 2023

View PDF

A Secretarial Disaster Designation has been issued for three (3) counties in Nebraska as primary disaster areas due to drought. Additionally, three (3) Iowa counties are contiguous to the disaster area. This determination will allow the Farm Service Agency's Emergency Loans to be made available to eligible family farmers with qualifying production and physical losses in the primary and the contiguous counties to the declared disaster area.

Secretarial Declaration Number: S5427
Emergency Loan Application Deadline: February 5, 2024
Primary Counties Eligible: Primary counties located in Nebraska
Contiguous Counties Also Eligible: Fremont, Mills, Pottawattamie (Iowa)
Disaster Description: Drought. May 30, 2023, beginning date of incident period.

More Resources

On farmers.gov, the <u>Disaster Assistance Discovery Tool</u>, <u>Disaster Assistance-at-a-Glance fact sheet</u>, and <u>Loan Assistance Tool</u> can help you determine program or loan options. Visit the <u>USDA Disaster</u> <u>Designation Information</u> site to view a full listing of disaster designations. To file a Notice of Loss or to ask questions about available programs, contact your local <u>USDA Service Center</u>.

Farm Service Agency:

1400 Independence Ave. SW Washington, DC 20250

Contact: FPAC Press Desk FPAC.BC.Press@usda.gov