

Farm Service Agency U.S. DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE

USDA Designates 2 Montana Counties as Primary Natural Disaster Areas 6 Montana, 2 Idaho and 2 North Dakota Contiguous Counties Also Eligible

News Release | Montana | January 09, 2024

View PDF

BOZEMAN, Montana-This Secretarial natural disaster designation allows the United States Department of Agriculture (USDA) Farm Service Agency (FSA) to extend much-needed emergency credit to producers recovering from natural disasters through <u>emergency loans</u>. Emergency loans can be used to meet various recovery needs including the replacement of essential items such as equipment or livestock, reorganization of a farming operation, or to refinance certain debts. FSA will review the loans based on the extent of losses, security available, and repayment ability.

Impacted Area: Montana

Triggering Disaster 1: Drought, Excessive Heat and High Winds

Application Deadline: 8/21/2024

Primary Counties Eligible: Ravalli

Contiguous Counties Also Eligible:

Montana: Beaverhead, Deer Lodge, Granite and Missoula

Idaho: Idaho and Lemhi

Triggering Disaster 2: Drought

Application Deadline: 8/21/2024

Primary Counties Eligible: Sheridan

Contiguous Counties Also Eligible:

Montana: Daniels and Roosevelt

North Dakota: Divide and Williams

More Resources

On farmers.gov, the <u>Disaster Assistance Discovery Tool</u>, <u>Disaster Assistance-at-a-Glance fact sheet</u>, and <u>Loan Assistance Tool</u> can help you determine program or loan options. To file a Notice of Loss or to ask questions about available programs, contact your local USDA Service Center.

#

Farm Service Agency:

1400 Independence Ave. SW Washington, DC 20250

Contact:

FPAC Press Desk

FPAC.BC.Press@usda.gov