

Stakeholder Notification

USDA Designates Union County, Oregon, as a Primary Natural Disaster Area

This Secretarial natural disaster designation allows the United States Department of Agriculture (USDA) Farm Service Agency (FSA) to extend much-needed emergency credit to producers recovering from natural disasters through emergency loans. Emergency loans can be used to meet various recovery needs including the replacement of essential items such as equipment or livestock, reorganization of a farming operation or the refinance of certain debts. FSA will review the loans based on the extent of losses, security available and repayment ability.

According to the U.S. Drought Monitor (see http://droughtmonitor.unl.edu/), these counties suffered from a drought intensity value during the growing season of 1) D2 Drought-Severe for 8 or more consecutive weeks or 2) D3 Drought-Extreme or D4 Drought-Exceptional.

State: Oregon

Triggering Disaster: Drought

Application Deadline: December 2, 2021

Primary Counties Eligible: Union

Contiguous Counties also Eligible: Baker, Grant, Umatilla and Wallowa

For more information on FSA disaster assistance programs or to find your local USDA Service Center visit <u>farmers.gov/recover</u>.

#

USDA is an equal opportunity provider, employer, and lender.